My brand new notebook.

I’ll admit it.  I created this blog months ago, and this is my very first post.  Why has it taken me so long to actually write a post, you ask?

Here are my top 3 reasons why the very first blog entry is the hardest to write.

3. I write for a living. Which is great.  I love it.  But sometimes, after I’ve spent much of my day writing,  my creativity has run dry. Which leaves me with bits of drivel to write such as, “Went grocery shopping. Peaches are on sale. Cool.”  And for your sake, I just can’t let my blog become that.

2. I am the anti-computer geek. Christian, my husband, can spend hours on the computer, writing in complex code and making it make all sorts of smart sounding “beeps” and “boops”. ( I think you have to know a secret handshake to get it to do these sounds.)  I, however, would prefer to do anything except look at a computer screen after working hours.  Actually, I think I would rather look at a cardboard cutout of a computer screen than a computer screen.  So there you have it.

1. I really want it to be meaningful. You see, I feel that a fresh journal – whether online or on paper  –  is a chance for a new start. The first entry is an opportunity to define the journal itself  – to get everything perfectly right. But the more I’ve lived, the more I’ve learned that life isn’t about being perfectly ready for each new stage.  It’s about diving in, imperfections and all.

So here we go. This is definitely going to be an “imperfections and all” kind of blog. But no matter what, it will definitely be our greatest hits.

Leave a comment